Representing the Arrested & Accused in Texas
Driving while intoxicated, often referred to as DWI, is prosecuted harshly in the state of Texas. Being pulled over can have lasting consequences that can affect you long into the future. Protecting yourself and your freedom is important. When you have our Haltom City DWI attorney on your side, you can rest assured that we will do everything possible to find the best resolution for your case.
Possible Penalties for a Conviction
The punishment you face for a DWI conviction depend on the circumstances behind your arrest.
If this is your first offense, you face:
- Minimum jail time of 3 to 180 days
- Fine of up to $2,000
- Suspended license for up to one year
For a second offense, the penalties include:
- Up to one year in jail
- Up to $4,000 in fines
- Up to two years of license suspension
- Mandatory installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
For a third or subsequent offense, penalties can increase dramatically. You can even face felony charges that will follow you for the rest of your life. You can lose your driving privileges, your reputation will be tarnished, and your relationships can be strained. Fight these charges with the help of our experienced criminal defense attorney.